Bournville College helps choose the Midlands newspaper of the year

Bournville College helps choose the Midlands newspaper of the year


Bournville College joined leading media specialists in the region to choose the winners of this year’s Midlands Media Awards. Four “champions” of Midlands’ journalism will be defending their titles at Birmingham Press Club’s Annual Midlands Media Awards, being held on Thursday, March 15.

The Derby Telegraph will be seeking to hold on to the Newspaper of the Year Award in the face of short-listed opposition from the Birmingham Mail, Coventry Telegraph, Express and Star, Leicester Mercury, Northants Chronicle and Tamworth Herald.

BMP’s Jeanette Oldham will be looking to repeat last year’s win as Journalist of the Year, while Mike Sewell, of the Leicester Mercury (2011 Sports Photographer of the Year) and Mike Lockley, of the Sunday Mercury (2011 Columnist of the Year) will again be seeking to hold on to their accolades.

Alma Aganovic, representative of Bournville College on the judging panel, said: “It was an honour to be involved in this process and see the talent of the regional media first hand. There were over 360 entries in total and the standard was extremely high.”

Bournville College is sponsoring the Journalist of the Year category. Nominees for The Midlands Media Awards 2012 are:

Newspaper of the Year

  • Birmingham Mail
  • Coventry Telegraph
  • Derby Telegraph
  • Express and Star
  • Leicester Mercury
  • Northants Chronicle
  • Tamworth Herald

Journalist of the Year

  • Adam Aspinall, Sunday Mercury
  • Alison Dayani; BPM media
  • Anuji Varma, Sunday Mercury
  • Dominic Howell, Nottingham Post
  • Jeanette Oldham, BPM Media
  • Les Reid, Coventry Telegraph

Magazine of the Year

  • dluxe Leicestershire
  • dluxe Birmingham & Solihull
  • Midlands Business Insider
  • 69 Magazine
  • Style Birmingham
  • The Journal

News reporter of the Year (Daily)

  • Adam Aspinall, Sunday Mercury
  • Anuji Varma, Sunday Mercury
  • Dominic Howell, Nottingham Post
  • Jeanette Oldham, Sunday Mercury
  • Kat Keogh, Birmingham Mail
  • Les Reid, Coventry Telegraph

News reporter of the Year (Weekly)

  • Belinda Hargreaves, Leek Post and Times
  • Leslie Jackson, Leek Post and Times
  • Louise Bellicoso, Buxton Advertiser
  • Nick Brimacombe, Mansfield Chad
  • Paul Kemp, Tamworth Herald

Online journalist of the Year

  • Ben Hurst, Birmingham Mail
  • Brian Halford; Birmingham Mail
  • John Duckers
  • Stephanie Bartup, Midlands Business insider

Business Journalist of the Year

  • Joanne Malin, BBC WM radio
  • Jenny Waddington, Coventry Telegraph
  • John Duckers, Business Insider
  • Jon Griffin, Birmingham Mail
  • Mark Gough, Central
  • Oliver Astley, Derby Telegraph
  • Simon Penfold, Wolverhampton Express and Star

Sports journalist of the Year

  • Andy Turner, Coventry Telegraph
  • Ian Winter, BBC Midlands Today
  • Leigh Curtis, Lincolshire Echo
  • Matt Kendrick, BPM Media
  • Steve Nicholson, Derby Telegraph
  • Steve Clamp Central
  • Tom Ross, BRMB

Scoop of the Year

  • Cara Simpson, Coventry Telegraph
  • Chris Jones, Derby Telegraph
  • Graham Young, Sunday Mercury
  • James Connell, Worcester News
  • Jane Tyler, Birmingham Mail
  • Jeanette Oldham, Sunday Mercury
  • Jonny Greatrex, Sunday Mercury

Headline of the Year

  • David Summers, Northampton Chronicle and Echo
  • Graham Tebbutt, Northants Chronicle and Echo
  • Nick Harries, Sunday Mercury
  • Richard Jackson, Birmingham Mail
  • Stacey Barnfield, Birmingham Mail
  • Steve Wollaston, Birmingham Mail

Columnist of the Year

  • Jill Gallone, Derby Telegraph
  • Kat Keogh, Birmingham Mail
  • Leigh Curtis, Lincolnshire Echo
  • Les Reid, Coventry Telegraph
  • Mike Lockley, Sunday Mercury
  • Paul Fulford, Birmingham Mail

Feature writer of the Year

  • Chris Jones, Derby Telegraph
  • Graham Young, Birmingham Mail
  • Katherine Taylor, Nottingham Post
  • Mark Andrews, Express and Star
  • Mike Lockley, Chase Post
  • Nicole Le Marie, Northants Chronicle and Echo

Newcomer/Student of the Year

  • Alex Britton, Nottingham Post
  • Andrew Bettridge, student at Staffordshire
  • Chris Airey, student at Staffordshire
  • Daniel Hewitt, Central
  • Lee Kettle, student at Staffordshire
  • Rachel Butler, Derby Telegraph

News photographer of the Year

  • Alex Hannan, Leicester Mercury
  • Emma Trimble, BPM Media
  • Gavin Dickson, Express and Star
  • Katherine Burnett, Derby Telegraph
  • Leah McLaren, Derby Telegraph
  • Mike Sewell, Leicester Mercury

Sports photographer of the Year

  • Beth Walsh, Leicester Mercury
  • Gavin Dickson, Express and Star
  • Ian Hodgkinson, Derby Telegraph
  • Katherine Burnett, Derby Telegraph
  • Lucy Shaw, Derby Telegraph
  • Mike Sewell, Leicester Mercury

TV Journalist of the Year

  • Ben Godfrey, BBC Midlands Today
  • Charlotte Grant, ITV Central
  • Liz Copper, BBC Midlands Today
  • Mark Gough of ITV Central
  • Mary Rhodes, BBC Midlands Inside Out

Radio Journalist of the Year

  • Corazon Garcia of Gem 106
  • Dan Dawson, BRMB
  • Laura Safe Heart FM
  • Stacey Foster BRMB
  • Steve Hermon, Beacon
  • Touch FM (news team)